Road To Galveston- Week One Recap

What a great week to be starting a training plan for an Ironman event! It’s Kona time, the SuperBowl of triathlon. Talk about an inspirational week to begin. Every 10 minutes there is a new post on my twitter feed from one of the many athletes or support sponsors talking about Kona.When I was at Redman watching my friends compete, it gave me a great feeling and I wanted to be a part of it too. So this was week one of my training.

This week was made up of 10 different workouts, three swimming, three running, two cycling, and two weight training. I promise you, there were a few times this week that I had to really make myself go. I suspect that as I get back in the habit of weekly workouts it will get easier. I took almost a full month off after the Hotter N Hell Hundred at the end of August. I was a little disappointed in some of my run times, I really lost some of what I had gained. The swimming is still a huge issue as far as technique. I powered through and got the distances done, two 1500 meter and one 2000 meter swims. The bike went good, I did an “isolated leg exercise” on the trainer and then a 1-1/2 ride at Hefner. The 1/2 hour of the Hefner ride was all out, so I could get a better fix on my training zones. The last lap was at a snails pace, as close to zone 1 as I could get without falling over. ha! It was really cold and windy that day. The weights were a new thing. The staff at the YMCA in Edmond helped me out and showed me the exercises and machines to get the workout that the Joe Friel AA workout plan prescribed.

So how do I feel about week one? Awesome actually! I mean, it feels really good to have completed the week. Plus, you know how when you are about to do something that you know you shouldn’t do but you are telling yourself “you won’t feel bad about it, this time”, so you do it and then feel like shit? Well the opposite is true about that too. If you do good things for yourself and others, even if at times you don’t want to, you can’t keep that feeling of goodness from coming up either! So I feel really good this evening as I am writing this. The thing about it is it effects every part of your life when you feel good about yourself; family, friendships, work, anything that that you are involved with gets to benifit! Thank you life, thank you all, thank you God.

2 Comments

Filed under Coldplay, CycleOps, cycliing, Cycling, cyclist, Determination, Edmond, Fitness, Gratitude, Hotter N Hell Hundred, Joe Friel, Lake Hefner, Life, Lonestar 70.3, Memorial Hermann 70.3 Texas, mind, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Running, Slow Fat Triathlete, spirituality, Swimming, TrainingPeaks, triathlete, Triathlon

2 responses to “Road To Galveston- Week One Recap

  1. Dude I love this song and wish I could hear every time I biked. Keeps me pedaling šŸ™‚ Congrats on finishing your first week of training. KONA! Dude! I am so not there yet but still sending you some good luck and good working out vibes. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

