Learning On The Fly

As part of the plan that I have downloaded from Joe Friel, today was to be a testing day on my bike. When I was looking at how I was to do that I realised that, I needed to get a good LTHR to set up my zones the way they set them up in The Triathletes Training Bible.So instead of doing the workout in the plan I did a workout to get my LTHR so I can set up my zones in the same fashion that they call to use them. It was interesting to see the differences in the zones when doing it this way. There wasn’t alot of higher end differences, but zone 2 gave me a wider and higher range for my heart rate. Becky helped my by recording my times and heart rate at each half mile as I increased my mph on each ‘lap’. So my LTHR turned out to be 169, a one point lowering than last year. After finishing the testing part I finished out the hour in a zone 2 finish.

I really want a CylceOps G3 power meter hub, but they just are so damned expensive! I had an idea of how to shuffle a few funds $$$ around to do it, but I am just not so sure I should. What I need to do is sell this damn set of D.W. drums and use that money! If ya know anyone that is looking for a good deal on a great drum kit, let me know. Hey Steve Schlegel, you ought to take up the drums dude! I got a deal for ya!!!!!

Gotta go with the all time greatest drum solo!

3 Comments

Filed under CycleOps, Cycling, cyclist, D.W. Drums, Drums, Edmond, Fitness, Galveston, Iron Butterfly, Joe Friel, Life, Lonestar 70.3, Memorial Hermann 70.3 Texas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Schlegel Bicycles, Slow Fat Triathlete, TrainingPeaks, triathlete, Triathlon

3 responses to “Learning On The Fly

  1. Do you really need a powertap ? I have always looked at the powertap and I think its a luxury for the public and its made for sponsored and pro triathletes. Just my 2cents worth.

    Bet you dying for some watts reading analysis.

    Cheers
    Isaac976

    • I think you are probably dead-on right. BUT I’m an equipment junkie, I must have power meter! You know Isaac, you have made a new friend in Oklahoma, my wife! You just might be the most quoted person in my house this week. But ya know, some guys have bass boats, I have bikes. Thanks for the comment.

      P.S. Want some drums? šŸ˜‰

  2. LoL, which part did she quote me on? lots of people quote my thoughts on twitter.. haha . if you are there do add me up at @isaac976

    Train Hard, Race Harder
    Isaac976

Leave a Reply

