Road To Galveston Week 5 Recap !!!!! AWESOME !!!!!

My Granddad’s Hardhat

I am pretty pumped about this weeks training. For all around effort I give the it an A-, withholding a little for the Tuesday “no-show”. But as a whole I feel really good about the week. There were two thoughts that stick out the most this week. 1) Just three years ago I would have been sitting on the couch doing “nothing”, weighing in a about 240 LB’s. 2. I was thinking of my last conversation with my grandfather. He was grasping to breath dyeing of emphysema. Before I left, both of us knowing it would be our last time to see each other, he said “Come here, I need to tell you something. I quit smoking over 25 years ago and it wasn’t soon enough. Those cigarettes are lying to you if you think they aren’t going to kill you. I know you’re still smoking and I’m here to tell you there’s no promise you can quit before you end up like this.” That was the last of many gifts that man gave me in his lifetime. I think about him often when I am out running or riding my bike. I loved that man. Thanks Dad.

So this week I was to do the following workouts: swim 3, bike 2, run 4 and strength 2. This week I was able to get them all done too. I was so tired from staying up most the night the Saturday before, I ended up resting both Monday and Tuesday.

Swimming continues to be a positive. The breathing breakthrough is awesome. I still have some trouble putting long lengths together, but I know that is just around the corner. My focus has been on just becoming comfortable swimming with my head in the water. I haven’t been worrying about the distances or drills that the workouts call me to do. Instead my focus has been simply on becoming more and more comfortable with swimming with my head in the water and not struggling with doing it. I still have been staying for the “time” that the workouts call me to get; this week it was 1hr, 1:15hr, and 45min. I am just so fired up about getting through this breathing block, you have no idea how excited I am about this. I’m talking about a 45-year-old fear that I have finally moved through! That’s friggin’ awesome!

I had 4 running workouts that I was to get in this week. Three 45 minutes and one 1:30hr run. The long run was stretched out to 1:46:02, so I could get a solid 8 miles. It was so cool too, I was able to get negative splits on the whole 8 miles! That’s damn good for me! And yes I did use my “mantra”. And no, I still will not share my “mantra”, ha! Becky went with me on this run, she wanted to get a good run in too. We went to Bluff Creek Park. That was the first time I have ever run there. It was pretty cool too, a little more scenic and the trees knocked down some of the wind.

My favorite exercise is cycling. This week there was a 1hr and a 1:30hr ride. The weather was absolutely perfect for the rides too, especially the Sunday ride. I did both of the rides outside at Lake Hefner. It is a pretty flat track, but that is what my training plan has been asking me to do. I really like riding out there. The time change through a kink in my Sunday plan of starting my ride at 4pm. Luckily Becky reminded me of the time change and I hustled on out there at 3pm. I was really pleased with the ride and effort too. The Sunday ride was to be a total of 1:30hr, with 1hr at 20bpm under my Zone 5a LTHR. I’ll tell you, at the end of that 1hr, I was ready for a little ‘recovery’ spin! My average speed was 17.1 mph, which is pretty good for me. Oh and that was without anyone else to draft with and it was on Hank, my road bike. So I was really pleased.

Doing weight training is still a new deal for me. I guess I was supposed to have changed this workout up a little this week, but I didn’t see that until today. Hey, I’m gonna give myself a break on that anyway. I did put out the effort and got two workouts done, even if they weren’t exactly like the ones that were listed, WTF.

So considering the whole week, I am really pleased. You might even say I am pumped! I just have a feeling that I am creating a positive “snowball” that is going to keep building steam and push me to a place that I don’t even think I can fully comprehend.

So tonights music will be a throwback tune in honor of my Granddad, Warren Cunningham. Take it away Glenn!

Leave a comment

Filed under Abundance, Attitude, cycliing, Cycling, cyclist, Determination, Dreams, Edmond, Galveston, Glenn Miller, Gratitude, Lake Hefner, Life, Lonestar 70.3, Memorial Hermann 70.3 Texas, Music, Now, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Running, Swimming, TrainingPeaks, triathlete, Triathlon

Leave a Reply

