New Year…. Time to Kick It Into Gear

Glass-Clarity-LifeAs I mentioned the other day, December 27th is a day for new beginings and positive change. I had a “cup of that bad coffee” with some friends at lunchtime to honor the past 6 year and even had a chance to talk to a guy just trying to get it together. It’s a great journey, I am grateful for where it has taken me! So with that said, what will the changes be this year? The change that I am going to go for will be a diet change starting with dropping sweets (to exclude Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas at my mom’s house). Becky dropped sweets at lent a year or so ago and she loved deserts as much as I do. I don’t want to limit the change to just sweets, but I do think that alone will help me get some more weight off. Whats the replacement? Fruits and smoothies will help fill in some of the gap. I figure I need to get some good breakfast’s first thing in the morning too. That way I won’t be grabbing the junk food at the first quick stop I come to right off the bat. I suspect I will get some input from my new triathlon coach too. She seemed to have a pretty sensible approach, sounds like she would want to stear me to smaller changes that I can maintain for the long haul. I’m cool with that too.

Speaking of “new coach”, today was the first day of training directed by my new coach. I’m pretty excited about it too! Today was a 1 hour bike ride on the trainer. After warmup I did some sets of ‘one-leg’ drills, followed by some riding in Zones 2 and 3. I also had a couple of times where I was to really push it hard for a solid minute then back down again. I am curious to see where my power was for those minutes. I was trying to make sure I held at least 300watts. One thing I really enjoy when on the trainer is listening to music! Today I went with Pandora’s Third Eye Blind RadioWhen I ride outside I don’t use the Ipod, I like the “all natural” sound thing, plus it is just more safe when out on the roads.  I was using heart-rate zones to do the workout. I suspect will will probably shift over to using the power meter at some point. That’s still a pretty new tool for me. I’ll kind of take the cue from my coach on how we will do that as we go along.

Mentally and Spiritually, it was a pretty good day too. I was able to get an early enough start to get a good prayer and meditation time to get the day going. I always like the picture of the cloudy water swirling in the cup and how continued practice of meditation lets that whirling crap settle down and rest on the bottom so we can get a better picture of what is goin on. Even in times where my mind is more “out there”, I know it is just a matter of making that time to practice that will help it to settle down. That alone helps me keep in a ‘hopeful” state of mind. One strain of thought that keeps seeping inside is that “the more you are able to stay in the moment and present, be it in meditation or even in day to day/minute to minute life, the more the past begins to heal and fears of future subside”. I believe it, more important than believing it is that I have started to experience it too!

Tonight we are going to enjoy my favorite pork tenderloin with that ‘gunpowder’ rub (actually it is chilli powder) on the outside to give it a little bite, brocolli, corn, and a nice salad. Good stuff!

No doubt, I have ‘the good life’. And the best thing about that is I know it too.

Tonights music clip will be a Led Zeppelin tune! Did you see the Kennedy Center honors last night? I only got to see the Led Zeppelin part and it was so cool getting to watch them listen to everyone doing thier songs! I was trying to decide which song I would post, then I found a clip of the whole segment so why not just post it all! Enjoy the greatest rock n roll band ever!!!

memorialherman

3 Comments

Filed under Abundance, and soul, Attitude, bad coffee, body, Buddhism, Cervelo, Christianity, CycleOps, cycliing, Cycling, Determination, Diet, Edmond, Fitness, Foo Fighters, Good Life, Gratitude, Heart, Kidd Rock, Led Zeppelin, Life, Lonestar 70.3, Meditation, Memorial Hermann 70.3 Texas, mind, mindfullness, Music, Now, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Slow Fat Triathlete, spirituality, Swimming, TrainingPeaks, triathlete, Triathlon

3 responses to “New Year…. Time to Kick It Into Gear

  1. Sounds like things are moving along and going well. Here’s to a gray new year.

  2. Great post Mark. Congrats on 6!

Leave a Reply

