Abundance

abundance
Every now and then there are words or ideas that just seem to strike a chord, maybe even become a theme of some sort. Well the word for me lately has been abundance. To me abundance has more to do with an attitude of gratefullness than any measured quantity of anything in my life. It seems to be something that comes from inside, not something brought about by outside circumstances or stuff. I can look back at the last 15 years of my life and I can tell you that today I live in abundance, that hasn’t been always been true. Now if you look at the last 15 years you can also see that most of my relationships, life circumstances, and even stuff are all the same. I still have the same wife and step-daughter, same job and boss, many of the same friends, live in the same city, etc.; so what’s the difference? A big part of the difference is coming to appreciate all the good things in my life, as they are. And be sure to know that I understand that it hasn’t been any virtue of mine that has kept any of my relationships or life situations in tact for the last 15 years, that is much more a testement to my family, co-workers, and friends. That understanding helps me to appreciate all the blessings I have, the abundance of life that I get to experience.

Todays workout was a 2:25 hour bike ride followed by a 15 minute run. Was a great workout, much sweat! I felt really good, felt a lot of hope in where I am going. Thich Nhat Hanh tells a story in one of his books about how you can look out over the dirt field where the sunflowers grow in the planting season and many don’t see the sunflowers, but the farmers do. They see the ground where they have planted the seeds, they already see the sunflowers. I am starting to see a triathlete. It makes me smile too.

tunes today will be Elton John’s “To Many Tears”

Leave a comment

Filed under Abundance, and soul, Attitude, bad coffee, body, Buddhism, Cervelo, Christianity, CycleOps, Cycling, cyclist, Determination, Edmond, Fitness, Good Life, Gratitude, Life, Lonestar 70.3, mindfullness, Newton Running, Now, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Running, Slow Fat Triathlete, spirituality, Thich Nhat Hanh, triathlete, Triathlon

Leave a Reply

