Burr !!!!!!

Well the Road to Galveston was pretty chilly today. It was one of those days where emotionally and mentally I wasn’t in the best spot. On those days my best is just getting though the workouts, there was a run and bike for today. So that was what I set out to do. Becky wanted to get all of the Christmas stuff taken down and put back in the attic, so we set a time of 4:00pm to go out for our run. I was going to do my bike ride on the trainer later in the evening.

buddhachristmasI don’t think it ever got above 30 degrees today, and the windchill was 16. At four we shut down the “decontructing Christmas Project” and got dressed for our run. Becky needed to get 4 miles and I was supposed to get in 35 minutes. It was just flat out cold. We ran at the trail around Oklahoma Christian again today. I just did a 17 minute out and back basically. I didn’t run with my Ipod today, I just wanted to get out there and get this stuff done. No frills or anything, get it done and get out of the cold! Today there was a mix of “fast” intervals in my run. They were just 30 second fast runs, with 1:30 easy jogs. I was reallly kinda surprised that my pace on the fast part was as fast as it was. It kind of reminded me of last January when I started out doing 30 second jogs and 1:30 walks, except this time I was actually starting to run. I felt good about it too, like if I could go from jog/walk last year then this year I can go from run/jog to all out run eventually. Maybe? Or at least knock my pace down significantly. So that was the good part of the run. Still feeling some good hope, even on a day where I am just a litte frazzled.

My workout called for me to just ride my bike 45-60 minutes any way I wanted, have fun with it. So I figured the most fun I could have since it was bone chilling cold outside was to ride on the trainer and listen to an album that I have been wanting to download. I downloaded OneRepublic’s Waking Up, great tunes! I didn’t really even look at my power or heart rate. I did still try to keep my cadence up around 88-93 range. It went pretty well. I felt good about getting it knocked out.

So tomorrow will be another day. Hopefully I will snap this stupid funk that I got in today. I suspect I will. Sometimes life throws us a curveball when we are just sure it’s going to be another fastball. I am going to get up early and do my swim workout at the YMCA in Edmond tomorrow.

Hope you all had a great start to your New Year! Here is my favorite tune from the OneRepublic album, Good Life:

Leave a comment

Filed under Attitude, bad coffee, body, Buddhism, Cervelo, Christianity, CycleOps, cycliing, Cycling, cyclist, Determination, Dreams, Edmond, Fitness, Good Life, Life, Lonestar 70.3, Memorial Hermann 70.3 Texas, mindfullness, Music, Newton Running, Now, Oklahoma, Oklahoma Christian University, Oklahoma City, OneRepublic, Running, Slow Fat Triathlete, spirituality, training, TrainingPeaks, triathlete, Triathlon

Leave a Reply

