The Road Is Longer Than It Might Appear

sbr At the first of the year I suspect we all set goals or have ideas of where we want to try to go, not only in our fitness life but other areas too. As a person that was never very athletic and didn’t get any physical exercise for many years I have really been blown away by how it has affected me. To me, it did so much more than just improve my physical fitness, it affected every area of life, life became more vibrant. So after I had completed my first 100 mile event, I felt like I was on top of the world and could do anything! This summer will mark my 3rd year of cycling, and while I do have some real lofty goals this year, I also have had to take a little humility on the road. Below I will tell you of just a few experiences that have been some of the growing steps and some of the more humbling ways I have had to come to grips with just where my starting point actually was.

After finishing my first Hotter N Hell Hundred, one afternoon my wife who is a marathon runner was going to go out for a quick run. Feeling all pumped up about my accomplishment, I said “hey, why don’t I come with you ?” She gave me a somewhat quirky look, but I think she felt like it was kind of sweet that I was willing to go along with her. So that seemed to trump the “doubt in my ability” skeptism that she had. I had no clue that cycling ability did not translate into running abilty. After jogging out the front door and maybe 30 yards down the street, I was done! I learned real quick that I was just a beginer in this fitness thing. I had “baby steps” to endure if I was to start running and eventually swimming too.

Getting an understanding of my true fitness level was one lesson I had to learn, and then in May of 2011, we came home to a house filled with smoke. It was the most surreal experience in my life, you never think that is going to happen to you. We hustled to get all of our pets out of the house while the fire department came. We were fortunate that we caught the fire in an early stage. So what does that have to do with my 2011 fitness goals? Life happens and some things just take precedence over my own plans and family needs had to be the focus. We were living in a motel for 3 months and it was a full 6 months before all of the construction was finished. What happened was all of those New Years plans just couldn’t happen.

Having made it through a chaotic 2011, I was ready to get going! In 2012 I wanted to do a triathlon! So I set out to do it with an organization that helped you with your training; great people and an organization with a wonderful cause too. So what was the catch? Well they met for swimming on Monday nights, a night that I had a previous commitment. This particular commitment was with a group of people who absolutely have saved my life. It is something that if I didn’t have it in my life, there would be no other goals. These people gave me life and helped me find a relationship with God in a way that changed me forever. I tried to justify not going for a short period until my event was over, but in my heart of hearts I knew where my priorities needed to be. This is the place that God gave me life, and it is the place where I get to be most effective in helping others have that same experience too.

My new fitness life is amazing, it has affected my entire life from the inside emotionally and spiritually and also physically too; but it hasn’t been an overnight event. I have had to take and am still taking many baby steps along the way. While my fitness goals do have a high priority level, they are not the most important priority; God and family have to be in the proper order too. It takes time to find that balance. It is more about finding a new lifestyle that can be balanced in all areas.

Best of luck with your fitness goals in 2013!

Todays workout was a 2-1/2 hour bike ride followed by a one mile run. It was work, but good work! I even did a pretty good job of following my coaches directions for the workout today!

Tonight let’s go with a little FUN.!

15 Comments

Filed under Abundance, and soul, Attitude, bad coffee, body, Buddhism, Century Ride, Cervelo, Christianity, couch to 10k, couch to 5K, CycleOps, cycliing, Cycling, Determination, discipline, Dreams, Edmond, Fitness, Good Life, Gratitude, Herman Memorial 70.3, Hotter N Hell Hundred, Lake Hefner, Life, Lonestar 70.3, mindfullness, Music, Newton Running, Now, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Running, Slow Fat Triathlete, spirituality, Swimming, training, TrainingPeaks, triathlete, Triathlon

15 responses to “The Road Is Longer Than It Might Appear

  1. Jason Lunsford

    You are without a doubt a great friend, training partner, and example of the kind of man i want to be. I am absolutely blessed to know you. You’re doing great and don’t forget it.

  2. Well said, well spoken. You and I are on a very similar journey so far. I am fortunate in that I have only a wife so I have more time to dedicate to the training. I wish you all the luck in 2013.

    • Well we are “empty-nesters” here. My wife is a runner too, she does ultra’s and marathons, so at least she is out doing her thing while I am doing mine. My daughter is a runner too, so we do a lot of events together too. I can see her posibly doing a sprint tri this year to get her feet wet.

      • That is so cool. My wife’s biggest hang up is that she did not marry an active person, but a couch potato. It really boils down to a super sudden change that she is still attempting to adjust to.

  3. Can’t wait to follow along and cheer you on to your 2013 goals!! Nicely written Mark!

  4. RunLovelyOne

    That’s a badass workout in the off-season. 2013 has just begun….

  5. What a great story, Mark. Good job, and yes, that is a badass workout for January! Good job!
    Note: I also have an April triathlon, and I’m just beginning my training (officially) the last week in January! (it’s just a sprint)

Leave a Reply

