Good Country Ride

jonestrainToday I did a 2:45 hour ride from my house out to the Jones/Choctaw area. After about 5 miles you are out in a rural area on the outskirts of Oklahoma City. The Oklahoma City metro area is relatively flat, but this area does have a few hills to work on. This was the first time since probably September that I have ridden out that direction. I like to have a riding buddy when I go out there, we have had a few cycling/car fatalities in the last couple of years out there. So today I had my buddies Big Brian and Jason out with me. We did a little over 40 miles.

My favorite part of the ride is along a stretch of XXX Road that travels north-south. It is farmland, really peaceful; plus we are usually turning back north and get to let the south wind push us for awhile. We did have a little bit of an issue with a road crew that was putting up guard rails, they had put up “road closed” signs but it looked to me like we could easily get through. The first person with the heavy equipment waived us through, his supervisor wasn’t as “accommodating” as the other guys. So we took a little brow beating from the fat redneck and went on. This is part of the route for one of the bigger bike rides of the year in Oklahoma City, The Redbud. I will miss it this year because we will be in Galveston for the Lonestar 70.3.

We did stop at a quickstop in Jones to get some Gatorade. All I had for liquids was water, I should have done one water and one Gatorade. So after that break it was the last stretch back into Oklahoma City/Edmond. To me it was pretty uneventful, just a good afternoon ride. The weather was unseasonably warm, around 65 or so, but the wind was Oklahoma strong, 15-25 constant out of the southwest with occasionally higher gusts. The 65 degrees made the wind a good trade off. If you want to ride bike in Oklahoma, you just gotta know there will be plenty of windy days. While we don’t have big mountains, we do have wind!

All in all it was a good ride. A good first effort out on some hillier routes. I do think I want to do a lot more training out that way rather than at the flat lake too. So I am looking foreward to getting out that way more often. At the end of the ride I did feel like I probably should have pushed it a little more than I did. My heart rate was in the middle of my Zone 2 on average. I could have done a little more I think. But for a first Jones ride of the year, I will call it a good ride.

One thing I do like is the fact that my starting point this year is much better than last year. I am about 30 pounds lighter than my wieght at this time last January so that is a really good thing. Aerobically I think I am probably in a better place too, thanks to the running and swimming. So if this is the starting point this year, it should be fun seeing where it takes me in August and September of this year!

Back CameraNow it is reward time! Becky and I will be heading out to our new favorite pizza place in Oklahoma City, Upper Crust Pizza ! Last week was our first time to Upper Crust and it was awesome, can’t wait to go back tonight. Just saw thier web-site, wouldn’t you know it’s another Hal Smith Group establishment. They have to be about the top operators in our city.

Leave a comment

Filed under Abundance, Attitude, bad coffee, body, Buddhism, Cervelo, Christianity, CycleOps, cycliing, Cycling, cyclist, Determination, discipline, Edmond, Foo Fighters, Good Life, Gratitude, Herman Memorial 70.3, Life, Lonestar 70.3, Memorial Hermann 70.3 Texas, mindfullness, Music, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Road ID, Road To Galveston, Slow Fat Triathlete, training, TrainingPeaks, triathlete, Triathlon, Upper Crust Pizza, Zipp

Leave a Reply

