It’s Not All Roses

Red-Red-Rose-roses-11662034-1280-800Generally my attitude is pretty high and positve; today it wasn’t so much. I wasn’t just way down or anything, I just had a taste of reality when I was looking back over yesterday’s run times. So I played with that for a little while knowing that I had to go out for an afternoon swim workout. There is a certain fairness and honesty about getting into shape, there aren’t any shortcuts. Physically, what you are is what you are. Fitness, it is what it is too. No magic buttons to push or free advance cards, just work. Inspiration seems to be a word that kept coming up this week, sometimes you can grab that emotional boost. I love when that happens! Then somedays you just have to ignore your emotions and negative mind and put in the work.

Today was a day that I had to “just go to the gym and swim”, do your work. I had already made a commitment to meet Jason at the pool so that always helps. Accountability, that’s a big part of working with friends and having a coach. I want people to hold me to the path that will get me to where I want to go. So we met up to do our swim. It went pretty well too. Afterwards I felt good, I always do when I ignore that negative crap and do what I am supposed to do. Technically I felt that my “breathing” was off a little, I need to get that breath a little sooner than I was today. The last 4 x 25s I tried to get real conscious of doing that right. The catch-up drills help me with that too. I even thought about doing that last 4 x 25 all as catch-ups, just to work on correcting that. Might talk to Doc about that next time we talk.

I did have a nice talk with my coach today. We talked about the “slow” run thing and we are going to do another “heart-rate” zone test the following week. This week we are going to bring in strength training. So I am looking forward to that too.

So does my mind mess with me sometimes, hell ya. Does it last, only if I let it. And that reminds me of another story. 😉 A story that the Abbess Master Jian Mao told us one night at Budda Mind Monastery. “You know how to get a ball to stop bouncing? Stop bouncing it.” So I try my best to just let the negative crap pass, don’t fight it but don’t play with it either. It never lasts to long if I turn to something positive or God forbid call someone else and see how they are doing!

This tune always cracked me up! Outkast and Roses, that’ll work!

5 Comments

Filed under Abundance, Attitude, bad coffee, body, Buddha Mind Monastery, Buddhism, Christianity, Determination, discipline, Dreams, Fitness, Gratitude, Herman Memorial 70.3, Lonestar 70.3, mindfullness, Music, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Outkast, Slow Fat Triathlete, spirituality, training

5 responses to “It’s Not All Roses

  1. Swimming is always a technical challenge for me. So many things to think about. Very difficult to master but well worth it in the long run.

  2. Way to stick it out. I do three hard one recovery and often find the beginning of the hard third week after I have already completed two weeks of 8+ hours per week the hardest. I was hitting that today, felt unmotivated and did not feel like going to do my swim or my run. But I put on my bloomers and off I went. Got to put in the time.

  3. I. Love. Your. Buddha. Quote.

    Great inspirational message. I needed that today. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

