Nice Saturday Overcast With My Pup Dog!

MarkandHavanaIt is really overcast today, so my workouts fit the weather pretty well. I had a nice 1800yd swim and a little 20 minute walk afterwards. The swim is still going pretty good too. I know that will keep progressing. The walk was just enough to get some good air.

The thing that struck me the most on the swim was something that I learned from meditation;  if you concentrate on one discipline intently the others parts will come around. In meditation if I am intent on just being in the moment with my breathing, my mind starts to clear up and I have a better outlook and it effects every part of my life. Today when swimming, I was really focusing on getting a good powerful stroke, and I noticed that my breathing issues were not there at all. So thats a lesson that I am going to keep repeating. My didstances will continue to stretch out, I am not worried about that. I think focusing on my form is really a big deal. Those little 25’s, doing them as well as possible. Then letting that just become the way I swim when I stretch out to the other distances.

My walk was relaxing. I just did it when I got back home from the Y. I took a little walk over to the college. The air was really nice, a little crisp and on the verge of having moisture in it. It felt good to just walk and think back over the week. I am going to do a brick test tomorrow and then go do my strength training that I missed on Monday. The only other excercise I didn’t get in was an optional run one day. I kind of hated to miss anything, I don’t want that to become a “norm”. I want to do the extra’s. While the load wasn’t as heavy this week, the recovery was kind of refreshing. I feel pretty pleased with how the first 4 weeks have gone since starting to work with my new coach.

Well I am going to just hang out and chill tonight. The girls have gone on a road trip to Waco, Texas for a marathon without me, so tonight it’s just me and my pup dog Havana! I took that pic of me and Havana one day when I had all the studio lights up, it was a hurry up shot with remote trigger. She didn’t really want to pose and I am pretty sure I only got about 2-3 quick shots before she bolted ! haha

Here is an oldie I like, Level 42’s Something About You. 

4 Comments

Filed under Abundance, Attitude, bad coffee, Buddhism, Christianity, Determination, discipline, Dreams, Edmond, Fitness, Good Life, Gratitude, Level 42, Life, Meditation, mindfullness, Music, Now, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, training, triathlete, Triathlon

4 responses to “Nice Saturday Overcast With My Pup Dog!

  1. What a great lesson, Mark. Focus on one thing and everything else will come around. I think I’ll tape that onto my gym bag ID tag. 🙂
    And what a great plan for the evening. Are you a studio photographer or something? My hubby and I have been spending every free moment learning more about the craft (we’ve both been talented amateurs for years). . . http://dalebenhamphotography.com. My site isn’t good enough yet to share, other than http://www.sandramathewsphotography.com/nawakwa/ I have a couple good ones.
    Then again, everyone’s a photographer, huh? :-/ Sorry.

    • No I’m just an armature photographer with more toys than I really need. My daughter really got into it in college and I always wanted to do it too, so we really went after it for a few years. I’m just getting the bug again now.

      • Oh, that’s right! Didn’t you get a camera for Christmas and she basically uses it a lot? 🙂 You do have toys! So do we.
        You know what I learned from two professional photographers? You’re an artist (painter, sculptor, photographer, author) if you say you are. 🙂

      • We have had the gear for about 3-4 years….. I just haven’t down anything with it for awhile.

Leave a Reply

